5 Surefire Ways to Promote a Self-Published Book

‘Marketing Strategy’ Typed on a Creased Page and a Flat Iron Smoothing It Over

If you think contracted authors have the upper hand on book marketing, think again. With each day that passes, publishing houses are scaling back their promotion budgets, leaving their writers with no choice but to create social media handles, blogs, and whatnot, to market their bibliography.

In other words, self-published authors have as much of a shot at selling their books as contracted ones. Here’s how.

1.    Create an Official Website

Take it from an award-winning author: having your own website is, by far, the best route to promote your books because it’s the only way to reach your target audience in this day and age.

Since you can’t beat search engine algorithms, you can only cater to them by writing blogs and create other on-page SEO. That’s the only way for you to rank higher in organic search results, attract traffic, and lead conversions.

2.    Establish Social Media Presence

Social media has its downsides, but they’re absolutely worth the upsides. Setting a handle on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and more sites can help you determine what part of your branding strategy works and what doesn’t.

By knowing your strengths, you can go from strength to strength and, at the same time, save money and time on unnecessary promotions.

3.    Make the Most of Positive Reviews

Reputation management keeps your afloat as an author by highlighting the positive and taking appropriate measures to address the negative.

One way of achieving the former is through positive reviews from readers. The quickest way to do so is to approach readers of your previous books with a carefully drafted email requesting an honest review for an advance copy of your upcoming work. Some of your most loyal readers may even feel honored that you took the initiative to contact them, which would, of course, increase your chances of earning a glowing review.

A White Smartphone and Three Speech Boxes Containing the Symbol for Followers, Likes, and Comments, Respectively

4.    Comment on Your Posts

Commenting on your posts is no more just about engaging with your readers on a personal level. As of 2020, commenting and replying to comments also brings organic traffic to your homepage.

However, you might want to stay calm and collected when interacting with haters, as scathing replies can be satisfying but also counterproductive. Be sure not to delete their negative comments and forgo them, or better yet, respond with a witty comeback without being offensive.

5.    Indulge in Some Literary Magic

As an author with a fair share of popular historical fiction books to my credit, I can say with confidence that words will always come through for you.

Where books are concerned, the blurb is your first wordy impression. Therefore, you need to make sure it’s just the right size and has enough punch and catch to keep the reader’s attention.

The following features make a great book blurb:

  • Brevity
  • A riveting opening.
  • A body with just enough info about the central characters.
  • A body with just enough info about the plot.
  • Parallels with popular books in the genre, such as ‘perfect for readers of Joseph Woodward’.
  • Editorial reviews, if any.

How I Promote Biographical Historical Fiction

As an Amazon author, I can tell you that marketing books takes the kind of time you may not have as a writer. However, with time, you’ll find that it’s all worth it, just as I did when I went from being a storyteller to an award-winning storyteller with a bibliography spanning seven critically acclaimed books and counting.

Reach out to me for comments and feedback on my biographical novels.

Leave a Comment

Welcome to my musings! I’m an author who loves to write novels and short stories that you can read on-the-go. When I’m not holed up writing, you can find me in my garden or at my piano.